30 Years Ago: Kiss Release Smashes, Thrashes & Hits

Mercury Records

Kiss released the greatest hits compilation Smashes, Thrashes & Hits 30 years ago today (Nov. 15, 1988).

I am a big fan of Kiss. I love classic 70's Kiss of course, but I'm also big into 80's Kiss. Some think I'm crazy, but I love all of the albums Kiss made throughout the 80's  including albums like Creatures of the Night, Lick It Up, Animalize, Asylum, and Crazy Nights. They are all great in my book. I remember picking up Smashes, Thrashes & Hits when it came out back in 1988. I saw it at Book and Record in the Putnam Plaza in Carmel, NY and grabbed the cassette. The collection features 15 Kiss classics from the 70's and 80's including two new songs "Let's Put the X in Sex" and "You Make Me (Rock Hard)" plus a new version of "Beth' featuring Eric Carr on vocals. The album went double platinum in the U.S. for sales of 2 million copies. See the full track listing below. I played the hell out of the album as a young kid. Have you ever owned or do you still own a copy of Smashes, Thrashes & Hits?  

Track listing: 

1. "Let's Put the X in Sex"

2. "(You Make Me) Rock Hard"

3. "Love Gun" 

4. "Detroit Rock City"

5. "I Love It Loud"

6. "Deuce"

7. "Lick It Up"

8. "Heaven's On Fir"

9. "Calling Dr. Love"

10. "Strutter"

11. "Beth" (with Eric Carr on vocals)

12. "Tears Are Falling"

13. "I Was Made for Lovin' You"

14. "Rock and Roll All Nite"

15. "Shout It Out Loud"

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content